Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Chamber announces winners of 2009 Small Business of the Year Awards

The Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce today announced the winners of its 2009 Small Business of the Year Awards. Infoscitex Corporation was named the ‘Small Business of the Year.’ RDK Engineers will receive the ‘Business Excellence Award’ and Diane Hessan, president & CEO of Communispace Corporation, will be honored with the ‘Entrepreneur of the Year’ award.

This year’s Small Business of the Year Awards Luncheon will be held at the Sheraton Boston Hotel on October 15, 2009 at 12 p.m. Randy Papadellis, CEO of Ocean Spray, will be the event’s featured speaker, and Anthony Silva of WBZ-AM 1030 will be the Master of Ceremonies.

Celebrating 25 years, the Chamber’s Small Business of the Year Awards recognize the entrepreneurial achievements of Greater Boston’s smaller for-profit companies who have gross revenues over $2 million and display strong financial performance, achievement in management, workplace excellence, product innovation, and community and social responsibility.

“This year’s winners are an excellent representation of the innovative spirit, focus on excellence, and commitment to the community that define the region’s small business community,” said Paul Guzzi, president & CEO of the Greater Boston Chamber. “Each award recipient demonstrates the best of business and entrepreneurship in Greater Boston. We look forward to honoring each of them on October 15.”

This year’s Small Business of the Year, Infoscitex Corporation (IST), is an engineering services firm that provides innovative solutions in the defense, aerospace, life sciences, energy, and environmental markets. Founded in 2000, IST has established itself as a highly competent organization with a reputation for developing solutions that meet the unique requirements of its varied customers, including Reuters, Johnson & Johnson, the U.S. military, NASA, and the National Institutes of Health. IST’s first spinoff, IST Energy Corporation, recently launched its flagship product, the Green Energy Machine (GEM) which turns waste into energy.

The recipient of this year’s Award for Business Excellence, RDK Engineeers, is a specialized mechanical and electrical engineering firm that offers total building system solutions. Founded in 1897, RDK has become an innovative leader in adopting and developing green solutions and incorporating the use of a wide variety of cutting edge, environmentally conscience technologies. Over the past ten years, RDK has experienced average sales of growth of 19%, profit growth of 20% per year, grown the staff 400% and consistently been recognized as one of the best places to work.

Diane Hessan, president & CEO of Communispace Corporation, will be honored with this year’s Entrepreneur of the Year Award. Hessan has served as CEO of Communispace since its founding in 1999. Over the past ten years under her leadership, Communispace has developed the first online communities that allow organizations to truly listen to the “voice of their customers.” As social media continues to grow as a business tool, Communispace offers the only social-networking model with a proven track record of providing real business value and competitive advantage to businesses.

Winners were selected from a large pool of qualified applicants that was first narrowed down to nine semi-finalists, from which a group of finalists was selected. The Small Business of the Year selection committee made site visits to the finalists to gain first-hand knowledge of their operations. Previous winners include Hartney Greymont, Baker’s Best, Elizabeth Grady, Cafco Construction Management Inc., The Piantedosi Baking Company, Stacy’s Pita Chip Company, Finagle a Bagel, Boston Duck Tours, Gentle Giant Moving Company, Nantucket Nectars, and J.P. Licks. The two previous entrepreneur of the year winners were Dr. Janet Wolfe of Wolfe Laboratories, Inc. and Dr. Ian Lane Davis of Mad Doc Software, Inc.

To register to attend the event, click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment